Felt Rosette Ornaments

Over the summer, I was already on the hunt for some ideas of what I would make to put on my tree this year.  I continued to see wreaths made with these felt circles and I thought they were all so beautiful.  I decided to try this beautiful technique on my ornaments, and let me tell ya….I am so pleased with how they turned out!  They are my favorite ornament this year!

IMG_4536

These weren’t that hard to make, but they were a little time consuming.  I ended up cutting out hundreds of felt circles on the 8 hour ride to visit my family over Thanksgiving.  I think the finger cramps paid off!

1.  Cut out felt circles that are about 1 – 1.5 inch in diameter.   I used large Styrofoam balls for this ornament and it took about 100 – 125 felt circles for each ornament.

IMG_4401

2.  I used jute rope as my hanging loop.  Cut a loop of rope, ribbon, yarn, or string that is about 6 inches long, fold it in half, and pin it to the top of your ball.

IMG_4400

3.  Start pinning!  Now you will fold up your felt circles into fourths and then pin them to the ball.  I always start next to the hanging loop to help secure it.

IMG_4403IMG_4404IMG_4405IMG_4407

4.  Continue pinning all the way around the ball until all the Styrofoam is covered.

IMG_4534

I ended up only making a set of 6 of these ornaments since they turned out fairly large, but they are the main decoration of our tree this year.  They are so soft and classy looking!

IMG_4490

Leave a Reply

