Tree Week ~ Musical Ornaments

This week I am sharing all my special ornaments I am hand-making this year for our Christmas tree.  I am loving the look of the Sweater Ornaments combined with the Felt Rosette Ornaments, but now I need to move away from “soft” while sticking with my theme.  I have tried to stay with the neutral color pallet, and antiqued sheet music fits in perfectly!

IMG_4496

These sweet little ornaments were super easy, and super cheap. They could even be adapted to be something sentimental if you would like.  I actually got the idea from a pin I saw on Pinterest where they took the wedding invitation and used this same method…how sweet!

1.  Print out or gather your paper that you would like on the inside of your ornaments.  I Googled “antique Christmas sheet music printables” and printed off the sheet music for my favorite Christmas song, “What Child Is This?” I printed two pages per 8 1/2 x 11 sheet.  Half of an 8 1/2 x 11 sheet seemed to be just the perfect amount of paper for the inside of my ornaments.

IMG_4497

2.  I trimmed the white space off the edges of the paper and then cut the sheet music into strips.  I kept the strips to where they were either music notes, or lyrics.

IMG_4499

3.  I took a small crochet needle (but you could use a pencil, straw, stick, or anything you have on hand) to wrap the strips around tightly.

IMG_4500

4.  Once you have your strip wrapped tightly, you will keep hold of the edge and drop it into the ornament. You can give it a little shake once it is in the ornament if you want it to loosen up a little.

IMG_4502

IMG_4504

Keep filling until you get the look you desire.  These were so easy to make and I had a set of 12 finished in less than 2 hours.  This would be a great craft to get the kids involved in too – no mess!

IMG_4505

One thought on “Tree Week ~ Musical Ornaments

Leave a Reply

