DIY No-Sew Ruffled Tree Skirt

I have missed you guys!!  I am so sorry that I have been MIA for a couple of weeks.  I got super yucky sick, then it was the last week of school before the holidays, then it was Christmas decorating before all the family gets here for the holiday.  OK – I promise I am back now and I have soooo much I want to share with you.

IMG_4438

This next Christmas decoration was a labor of love for sure!  I started working on this project back in JULY!  I finally finished it right at Thanksgiving, and I am in love with it!  You can go on Pinterest or Google and search for “no-sew tree skirt” and find different examples all day long.  Today, I want to share my simple, yet beautiful creation with you….and how it came together.

Materials:

  • an old tree skirt (all “extras” removed from the tree skirt)
  • 8 – 10 yards of muslin
  • hot glue….lots of hot glue

1.  Cut your muslin into 3 inch width strips.

IMG_0665

2.  Start at the bottom edge of your tree skirt and begin hot gluing the strips of muslin down.  I would glue down about 1 inch, then fold it back over about 1/4 of an inch to create the ruffle. 

IMG_0667

3.  Just keep going, around and around and around and around….I overlapped the ruffles just a little (about 1/4 inch) and alternated the way the ruffles were laying.  It really isn’t hard, just time consuming and it takes a LOT more muslin than you think.

IMG_1081

Of course I had to have some help from the girls…although I don’t know how much help the really were today. Smile 

IMG_0675

Something you must know about these 2Dogs is that they are not ever allowed on the furniture upstairs….but these old couches from college, the old basement furniture….we don’t mind if they get on those.  Can you tell that they take full advantage of it? Smile

IMG_0671

Aren’t they just precious!?  They are my joy every day!  Anyways, away from a doting mama and back to the tree skirt…

I love the simple look of the all white (I had previously considered alternating with burlap), especially with all my packages being wrapped in brown packing paper this year.  So pretty!

IMG_4439

Leave a Reply

