DIY Painter’s Dropcloth Stockings

That’s right – I made my beautiful stockings out of painter’s drop cloth this year.  If you have read my blog…ever…you know I love some painter’s drop cloth.  It is cheap, easy to work with, and matches my décor perfectly!

IMG_4619

Would you like to know how to make your own?  Yay!  I knew you would!

Materials (makes 4 stockings):

  • 4 yards of outside material (I used canvas drop cloth)
  • 4 yards of inside material (I used muslin)
  • 2 yards of ribbon (mine was brown ruffled)
  • 2 yards of lace
  • Jute
  • 1 inch think basic ribbon of your choice color (for hanging loop)
  • bells or decorations that match your theme
  • Sharpie (I used brown)
  • monogram pattern

1.  Draw your pattern for your stocking.  I drew mine straight onto the canvas, but your could use poster board, cardboard, or something like that to make a template.  Cut out two canvas panels for each stocking and 2 muslin panels for each stocking (total of 8 each for 4 stockings)

IMG_3888

I actually spent time drawing, cutting, going upstairs and holding it up to the mantle to see the size, then trimming and snipping until I was happy.

2.  At this point you will want to go ahead and monogram 4 of your panels.  I used the projector/sharpie method that I love so much (only because I don’t have an embroidery machine).  I designed my monograms on the computer, printed them out, projected them onto the fabric, and traced them with my brown sharpie.

IMG_3891

3.  On the right side of the muslin, go ahead and sew your ribbon/lace.  I knew I wanted the lace to hang from the edge so I sewed it right to the edge.  Then sewed my brown ribbon about an inch apart.  The real thing I did was lay it out before I sewed anything to make sure I liked the look.  ** Keep in mind that this will be folded over, so if you have something that is directional (like my lace) make sure you sew it “upside down”. **

IMG_3890

4.  With right sides together, sew the top of the canvas to the top of the muslin.  Make sure your monogramed piece and ribboned piece are sewn together.  Also make sure the “toes” are pointing in the same direction.

IMG_3895

5.  With right sides together sew all the way around the stockings.  Let me try to explain…In the picture above, I would take the piece on the right, lay it right sides together on top of the left piece.  It looks weird, but I promise it works.  Sew all the way around leaving a 2 in opening somewhere (I chose to leave my opening on the muslin piece because I knew that would be the inside and you wouldn’t see where I sewed it together after the next step).

6.  Now turn the piece inside out from the hole you left.  You will end up with something that looks similar to this.  Sew together the hole in the lining.

IMG_3897

7.  Now you will push your lining into the outside of the stocking and fold over your decorative piece on the top.

IMG_3898

8.  Cut a 6 inch piece of the ribbon you are using to hang the stocking and pin it to the inside of stocking.  I chose to also hang three lengths of Jute from the same side (with bells).  So I pinned the jute to the outside opposite the hanging ribbon. Sew it all down.

IMG_3899

9.  I also chose to make a Jute ribbon and hot glue it over the stiches of the above step.

Now you are ready to hang your beautiful creation!

IMG_4623

I made the three for us girls (me and the 2Dogs) with lace, and made Hubs’ without lace. Smile  I think they turned out pretty amazing to be my very first attempt at making stockings.  I actually kind of love them!  I can’t wait to see what Santa fills them with on Christmas morning!

IMG_4621

Leave a Reply

