Family Antiques are the Best

Hubs and I love to go on the hunt for beautiful antiques.  We spend many weekends trying to spot that perfect piece to add to our collection.  Even though we have found a few great pieces, I still believe that family antiques are the best!

IMG_4331

Two of my favorite pieces are from my Daddy’s parents.  My Grandma recently gave Hubs and I her Aunt’s old oil lamp.  I just think the imperfections on the hand-blown glass make this lamp perfect!  It looks amazingly beautiful up on my mantle. 

IMG_4334

My Grandma says she remembers this lamp at her Aunt’s house when she was little, and it was the one thing she wanted/received when her aunt passed away.  That makes this beautiful piece over 75 years old!

IMG_4338

My very favorite pieces of all are my Grandpa’s still camera and his slide camera.  He gave these to me personally because he said he, “saw a passion for photography in you, just like I saw in myself.” They are both still in working condition and maybe someday I will take them out and actually take a few shots with them.

IMG_4336

These two cameras are my prized possessions!  My Grandpa has since passed away and it was an extremely terrible loss. But, every time I walk into my front door I see his two cameras and I smile. 

IMG_4339

I feel so blessed to have been given these precious pieces and I will always cherish them and hopefully pass them down to my children someday.

Leave a Reply

