Healthy Money Savers

Eating healthy is too expensive!  I hear that a lot…especially from my hubby!  Yes, buying fresh fruit and veggies can add up.  Especially if you start going for organic.  Add in the free range and organic eggs, free range chicken breast, fresh herbs, and all the extra spices and such that you need to create great flavor and the grocery bill starts to sky rocket. 

With only two of us in the house, so many times a fresh bunch of basil or cilantro will go bad before we can use it all.  Or the 1/2 gallon of buttermilk (why don’t they sell buttermilk in smaller sizes??) gets dumped down the drain because it is expired before we use it again.  Hubs sees this as money being poured down the drain….and I don’t blame him.  So I have started a few new products and routines to help us save a penny or two.

IMG_5174

My first new routine is to freeze any extra cream, milk, or broth that may not be used in a recipe.  It is frustrating to have to buy a whole can of broth when I only need a couple of Tablespoons for a recipe.  If you pour the liquid into a traditional ice cube tray, each cube will equal 2 tablespoons.  Awesome right!?  I freeze the cubes, and then once they are frozen, I pop them out and store them in a Ziploc bag.  Then when I need a few tablespoons for the next meal, I just thaw a few cubes and leave the rest – no waste!

IMG_5172

Another money saver is to freeze extra diced green onions (I also do this with frozen corn, and frozen peas) in a water bottle.  Green onions thaw very nicely and keep their strong flavor.  Now I don’t feel bad about buying a whole bunch of green onions because I know I won’t be throwing half of them away!

IMG_5170

Finally, I went out on a limb and bought these Freeze-Dried herbs.  I was a little nervous about the flavor, and if it would really be worth it to purchase these over dried herbs.  Let me tell you, I was pleasantly surprised!  The flavor is much stronger and more fresh than the dried herbs, and when you add the freeze-dried herbs to the meal, they liven right back up.  I started by just getting parsley, but now I have cilantro, basil, and mint.  I keep the fridge stocked!  They are slightly more expensive (not as much as you would think) than purchasing fresh herbs, but none of it goes to waste….so really, I am saving money instead of throwing money away!

IMG_5173

How do you make the most of your fresh foods?  Do you have any tips of tricks that you could share?

4 thoughts on “Healthy Money Savers

  1. Katie W says:

    Hey! I have a small jar of bullion. You use, I believe, 1 Tbsp of the bullion in 1 cup of boiling water to make chicken broth. It says on the jar. If you buy that one jar, you can make TONS of chicken broth over time… Rather than buying the cans one at a time and throwing away the leftovers.

    Also, I can’t remember the exact measurements for this either, but if you mix lemon juice and milk together, it makes buttermilk. You can google homemade buttermilk and find the recipe for it. I never buy buttermilk because, like you said, it’s always WAY too much and you end up throwing away tons of it!!

    Hope these help save you even more money!! Thanks for the tips you shared!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

