Homemade Mother’s Day

Today is Mother’s Day, a day to honor our mothers, but I hope that you all honor your mothers every single day of the year.  Mothers are the most selfless people I know, and they deserve to be pampered every day!

I am sad to not be with my momma today, but I know I will be down to see her in a couple of weeks.  We made her something super special for her back screened porch, but you will have to wait to see that!

Hubs is actually blessed to have two mothers!  He was adopted and is so lucky to still have a relationship with both of his mothers.  We wanted to give them a little something to show them that we love them, and appreciate them both.

IMG_1166

How super cute is that!?  We had a great time building these special little gifts, and actually had a helper that day too!  My nephew came over for a little while, and was eager to make one for his momma too.  So here is the skinny…

I started by painting my mason jars (pint size) with off-white spray Krylon spray paint.

IMG_1076

To give the mason jars an antiqued look, after they dried, I lightly sanded the high spots on the jars.

IMG_1091

Meanwhile….in the driveway….Hubs and Nephew were busy building the boxes/trays to hold the jars.  They cut cedar wood planks down to size (2 inches high, 12 x 4 inches perimeter).

IMG_1080

IMG_1086

IMG_1096

After everything was cut, they used the nail gun to put everything together securely and then used the air-sander to smooth the edges.

IMG_1113

IMG_1118

Finally we put a coat of stain on the boxes, and set them aside to dry.

IMG_1128

We then filled our mason jars with soil and plants.

IMG_1132

IMG_1072

IMG_1136

The last little personal touch, was made by cutting out vinyl quotes on my Silhouette Cameo.  I will give you more details on how I did that later.

IMG_1140IMG_1160

I was so happy with the final look!  They are super cute for a kitchen window seal, front porch table, or even dining room table.

IMG_1165IMG_1168

I was so proud of my nephew’s hard work, and he was so excited to give his to his momma today!

IMG_1161

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mother’s out there!

Leave a Reply

