My first Silhouette Project ~ How to apply vinyl

A few days ago, I showed your our sweet little home-made mother’s day gifts.  I was so happy with how they turned out, especially since it was my first time cutting vinyl with my new Silhouette Cameo.

IMG_1160

The Silhouette makes beautiful clean and crisp cuts on the vinyl and it was so super easy to do too!

I started by making my design on the Silhouette software.

a

First I formatted my paper size and layout to match the size of the vinyl.

b1b2

Next I went into “my library” and chose the quotes that I wanted to use for my project.  I lined them up on my workspace, and changed the size to make sure the final product would fit my small boxes I was putting it on.

c

My sweet nephew wanted to make his own quote, so we just used the text box to make our own saying!  This is what I love the most about the Silhouette…you can use your own words and any font that is already on your computer.

d

e

f

Once we had the new quote, we made sure everything was just right on the workspace and we were ready to cut it out.  So exciting!

g1

Now is the fun,  where you just sit back and let the Silhouette do all the work.

IMG_1140

All you really have to do is load the paper, and press “cut”…I mean it…really that easy.

IMG_1143

Once the Silhouette is finished cutting, there are a few more steps to the finished product.  First you carefully pull off the vinyl, leaving your design on the backing.

IMG_1146

Next you use the special tool to remove all the small pieces.

IMG_1147

Then you place a piece of sticky transfer paper over your design and use the scraping tool to make sure it is pressed down firmly.

IMG_1148

You will then pull your design off the backing so that it remains on the transfer paper.  This looks like a lot of work, but I promise it really only takes a minute.

IMG_1150

Almost done…Now you will press your deign on to its final location and again use the scraping tool to press it down firmly.

IMG_1152

And finally you will carefully pull the transfer paper off to reveal your final product.

IMG_1155

So easy and makes a super professional look.

IMG_1156IMG_1158

So are your ready to try making a vinyl design??

Leave a Reply

