Banana Pudding Poke Cake

I am going to step away from healthy desserts for a minute to share with you my absolute FAVORITE new recipe!  I was spending time on Pinterest (I rarely do that…haha) when I came across a post for Banana Pudding Poke Cake.  Banana pudding is one of my favorite desserts, and this recipe didn’t call for actual bananas in the cake (which Hubs doesn’t like), so why not try it out?

Banana Pudding Poke Cake

It was so easy to make, and the taste was spectacular!  I have made it three times now (once to try, once to take to an event, and once for an event at our home) and my momma has made it once herself (for a church brunch).  My momma said everyone at her church liked it so much, and it was gone so quickly, that she didn’t even get to try a piece!  Everyone that I have shared it with has fallen in love with it!  I hope you try it out yourself!

Please go to :  http://www.thecountrycook.net/2012/06/banana-pudding-poke-cake.html for the original recipe (she also has one for Oreo Poke Cake and Coconut Poke Cake – Yummo!)

Of course I want you to follow the link for the original recipe, but let me give you a quick run down of how this is made so you can see how SUPER EASY it really is to make!

Step One – Bake a box of yellow cake in a 9 x 13 pan according to the box directions.

IMG_1460

Step Two – Use the base of a wooden spoon to poke holes all over the cake as soon as it comes out of the oven.

IMG_1461

Step Three – Mix up two packages of banana pudding.  Let sit for a minute until slightly thickened.  Spread over your cake and press down into the holes with the  back of a spoon. Put in the fridge to thicken up.

IMG_1465

Step Four – Cover the cake with one container of Cool Whip and top with crushed Vanilla Wafers.

Yep – that’s it!!  It is so delicious fresh, but even better after it has sat in the fridge over night.  It is great to take to pot luck events, or good to make a batch just for the family to enjoy!

IMG_1467

Leave a Reply

