A New Challenge

I hope you are ready for this one!  I have a LOT to say about this project that has been in the works for a while.  To keep myself on track, let me tell you the big ideas:

1.  We get ideas for projects in the strangest places.

2.  We love UGA Football (no, neither of us went to UGA).

3.  This project was a much bigger challenge than expected!

OK – so where to start.  Let’s start with where we got this idea for the latest project…

523387558f3d0.image

Yes, that is the inside of a Chili’s restaurant.  If you look to the far left of the picture, you see plexiglass signage hanging as a room divider.  See it?  It’s green and frosted…  Well Hubs saw that and just loved it.  He kept talking about it for months and saying he wanted to do something like that in our house.  I couldn’t picture it…but sometimes I just go with it.

So he finally decided how we would take that idea and make it work for us.  We started in the basement.  Here is what our basement looked like.

IMG_0950

Yes, it is kind of a man-cave.  It does look a little different since we have finally upgraded our furniture from those red couches we had in college….about time…I know!

IMG_0951

Above one part of the couch we have these beautiful prints that we bought from the artist during Mule Camp 3 years ago.

IMG_0952

Above the other part of the couch, we have this super cool antique football photo.  Yes…you see a theme coming together now?

We must interrupt here to mention that we make no apologies for not attending UGA, but being super-huge UGA Football fans.  We both graduated from North Georgia and they don’t have a football team, so we cheer on the next closest team.  And…just so you know….I WILL have a degree from there one day!  Then, I guess we will be official.

Now above the TV, we have this….

IMG_0949

Yep – that’s right – a HUGE open wall.  Ugh…what in the world could we do with this space?  It is sooooo BIG!  Well, hubs had an idea!  So we took a trip to Lowes and picked up some plexiglass and we were on our way!

IMG_0947

I started by spending HOURS creating personalized subway art on my Silhouette.  I cut the subway art out of black vinyl, pulled the extra off, covered with transfer paper, and then….handed it over to the OCD husband to put it on the plexiglass straight!  That plexiglass is expensive and I wasn’t about to mess it up!

IMG_0953IMG_0955

Hubs used a little trick of putting my quilting cutting mat under the glass to make sure the vinyl went on straight.  He also taped off the edges where he planned for the other pieces to overlap.

IMG_0960

I was pretty proud of how the subway art turned out!  I LOVE my silhouette machine!  Oh, and I musn’t forget that I had supervisors to help me…

IMG_0986

Next we waited…for our very special wall mounts to come in.  We went to Lowes, Home Depot, Ace, and Michael’s and Hobby Lobby looking specifically for these wall mount spacers and ended up having to order them online.

IMG_0964

So let me explain how they work…  First, Hubs marked and drilled holes in the plexiglass.

IMG_0961

Before I forget, let me tell you the very valuable lesson we learned while drilling holes in the plexiglass.  Don’t use drill bits like this…

IMG_0995

Yep, that is one whole ruined piece of plexiglass there in the background.  The drill just snapped it!  Instead, use a drill bit like this…

IMG_0998

Yeah…this was made for the job! So back to the wall mount spacers.  After you drill your holes, you make sure the art is level and pre-drill holes in the wall.

IMG_0966-2

Then you put in the base piece by drilling a screw into the wall through the bottom hole of the spacer.

IMG_0972

Then you place the art work over the spacer and screw in the top piece of the spacer to the bottom through the holes you drilled in the plexiglass.

IMG_0976

It ends up with a great finished look when you are done!  We ordered 1/4 inch spacers for the middle piece and 1/2 inch spacers for the side pieces since they would be overlapping a little.  Hubs made a few more exact measurements, checked in with the supervisors, and finished hanging the side pieces with the same steps as the middle piece.

IMG_0977IMG_0979IMG_0987IMG_1000

Now we have a beautiful, unique, one-of-a-kind piece of artwork over our TV.  No more big empty spaces!  I can’t believe my hubby saw that hanging plexiglass at Chili’s and envisioned this!?

IMG_1017

The only thing I don’t like about this picture is that it doesn’t really do the finished piece any justice.  You can’t really tell how super cool it looks coming out from the wall unless you see it in person.  Oh, and I had to add this one more picture of my Willow being a supervisor….just because I love it!

IMG_0981

2 thoughts on “A New Challenge

Leave a Reply

