Summer Garden Update

Do you remember when I had my fingers crossed that I would get at least ONE vegetable from my garden this year?  Well, guess what!?

IMG_0942

Look at that thing!  And this is AFTER I just cut back a ton of greenery.  We have made squash casserole, fresh salsa, squash chips, and added cherry tomatoes to almost every meal. 

IMG_0931

See that bucket on the side?  That was round TWO of the cut-backs!  These plants are Happy, Happy, Happy!  Here is my happy cherry tomato plant….I am currently picking about 5 tomatoes a day!  I have a gallon size freezer bag almost full of the ones we can’t eat in time.  I can’t wait to use them this fall in chili, spaghetti sauce, salsa, and vegetable soup!

IMG_0936

You see here that my heirloom tomato plants are pretty happy too!  I haven’t seen a red one yet, but they keep growing and growing and growing!

IMG_0934IMG_0937

My pineapple, green peppers, and jalapeños are still kicking too!  I actually pulled off a beautiful green bell pepper today!  I am so proud of my garden!  I can’t wait to share some of our recipes with you!  Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Summer Garden Update

    • 2teachers2dogs says:

      Thanks Adam! That means a lot coming from our resident family gardener! We have a long way to catch up to you, but this was a pretty good start for a first garden. Joe promised that is I was successful this summer, we would add another bed next summer….Can’t wait! 🙂

Leave a Reply

