A Southern Tradition from the Garden

IMG_1294

I haven’t had one single red tomato yet, but they are close.  But the thing is….I just couldn’t wait to get my hands on those juicy maters, so I pulled a couple of green ones off today.  Aren’t they gorgeous!?  I am sure you can guess what recipe I am about to share with you….yep…you guessed it!  FRIED GREEN TOMATOES!!

IMG_1303

I love, love, love some friend green tomatoes!  I only get them if we go to a decent restaurant, but not anymore!  I am not really going to share the fried green tomato recipe, instead I am going to share the dipping sauce recipe with you today.

I cheated on my batter today and grabbed a mix at the grocery store.  Mixed it up and fried those babies to the perfect golden brown!

IMG_1295IMG_1300IMG_1302

Meanwhile, on the other counter, I was whipping up this summer yummy, super quick dipping sauce, that will compliment just about anything! (Hubs thinks it tastes like Zax’s Sauce – yummo!)

IMG_1305

This simple sauce is made from staple pantry items that you probably already have on hand, it makes the perfect amount for one meal, and it keeps nicely in the fridge if necessary (wasn’t necessary here!).

IMG_1296

Grab your ingredients, mix them together, and walla…you are done!  Yep, it is that easy!

IMG_1297

1/4 cup mayo, 2 Tablespoons ketchup, 1/2 teaspoon seasoned salt, 1/4 teaspoon garlic salt, 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper, 1/4 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce. 

What are your plans for this yummy sauce!?

Leave a Reply

