ALS #icebucketchallenge Drama

So when this whole ALS #icebucketchallenge started I was extremely skeptical.  I was sitting around saying “I will never do that – it doesn’t help anyone for me to make a fool of myself.” Boy was I wrong!  Upon further research, I learned the following:

As of Thursday, August 21, The ALS Association has received $41.8 million in donations compared to $2.1 million during the same time period last year (July 29 to August 21). These donations have come from existing donors and 739,275 new donors to The Association.

Next, I was reminded that my best friend in the world has a close family member that suffers from ALS.  They watch her body deteriorate while her world continues on around her.  They spend so much time hoping and praying for a cure so others won’t have to suffer from this disease.

Wow – I mean – Wow!  Then I watched this heart wrenching video:  **the first part is his super silly #icebucketchallenge, please hang in there and watch his message he shares after he completes his #icebucketchallenge!!  **

This young man says it perfectly – yes we are ticking a few people off – but at least the message is getting out there!  It means that the #icebucketchallenge is working people!!!  I am so sad to think of the fear this young man lives in everyday as he feels his body give up on him.  I don’t want anyone else to suffer like this.

And to top it all off, my sweet nephew challenged my husband and I (yesterday – yes, we met our 24 hour requirement).

Like many others I had heard the term ALS, but didn’t really know what that meant.  It didn’t effect me directly, so I didn’t bother to worry about it.  Since this whole #icebucketchallenge drama, I have spent more time researching about ALS than I have spent watching cute dog videos on Facebook – it is making an impact on me, and hopefully on many others!

I finally caved.  Realizing that if my little video gets even one more person to spend some time researching ALS, or spends time spreading the word about the need for support for ALS, or spends a few of their hard earned dollars donating to research to find a cure….then it is totally worth it!

So here it is:

Yeah – so now that you saw us act  a little silly, please take a minute to learn more about ALS and how you can help!

To Learn about the research that your donation is funding – http://alsa.pub30.convio.net/research/

For some Quick Facts about ALS – http://www.alsa.org/news/media/quick-facts.html

To find a “Walk to Defeat ALS” Walk near you – http://web.alsa.org/site/PageServer?pagename=WLK_landing#.U_Z4EfldUxM

To Advocate – http://www.alsa.org/advocacy/

To Get Involved – http://www.alsa.org/fight-als/

And finally – every little bit helps – To Donate – https://secure2.convio.net/alsa/site/Donation2;jsessionid=74EE0799DB4B0D1FB9ED45CB21ED4734.app214a?df_id=27420&27420.donation=form1

Help #StrikeOutALS!

Leave a Reply

