Trying Out a New Snack

I am always on the lookout for a new snack to help satisfy my hunger when I get home from work.  For some reason I always feel like I am starving, then have to start dinner.  So instead of munching along while I cook, I try to eat something I know is good for me to keep my hunger down until dinner time.  This one was a super huge success for me because not only is it filling, it is super YUMMO!  It even has a hint of sweetness which my sweet tooth thanks me for daily!

Yogurt Fruit Granola Bars

IMG_1376

      •    2 cups FF vanilla greek  yogurt
      •    1 cup chopper strawberries
      •    1 small banana, chopped
      •    1/4 cup chopped almonds
      •    3/4 cup low fat granola

 

Mix the yogurt, strawberries, banana, almonds, and granola in a bowl.  Look at all that freshness – YUMMO!

IMG_1378IMG_1380

Line an 8×8 baking dish with aluminum foil and and spread the mixture into the pan.  Cover with plastic wrap and place in the freezer overnight.

IMG_1382IMG_1385

Remove from the freezer and let thaw for 5 minutes (this is very important – they are hard as rocks if you don’t let thaw!).  Cut into 6 bars.  Store them in an airtight container in the freezer (I went ahead and put them in individual sandwich bags).  They are not great for lunch boxes because they get super mushy if they thaw out too much.  But they are PERFECT for an after-school snack.  I grab one from the freezer when I come in, walk the dogs, get the mail, unpack my lunch box, and then it is thawed out perfectly to chow down on!  Delish!

IMG_1386

Calories:  150     Fat:  3.1g    Carbs:  22g   Fiber:  2.8g   Protein:  9.7g  (4 ww+ points each)

Leave a Reply

