Roast Chicken in the Crock Pot

I absolutely LOVE chicken from the crock pot!  I feel like you just about can’t mess it up.  It always comes out tender and full of flavor.  Let’s also not forget the easy clean up, and dinner is practically done when you get home!  This week I tried out a whole chicken in the crock pot and used the meat for a couple of dinners!

IMG_6005

Doesn’t it look so yummy!!!  I started by placing 4 foil balls in the bottom of the crock pot to keep the chicken out of the juices while it cooked.  Then I packed the inside of that 5.4 lb bird with 1/2 cup onions, 1/2 cup carrots, 1/2 cup celery, and 2 lemons.  I finished with a covering of Mrs. Dash Lemon Pepper Seasoning over the outside of the bird.

I turned the crockpot on high for 4 hours and left for work.  I shortened the suggested cook time because I knew I would be gone 8+ hours for the work day.  Once my crockpot is done with cooking time, it will stay on the “warm” setting (which is still pretty hot for my crockpot) until I turn it off…so I knew the bird would keep cooking the remaining 4 hours. If you are home to watch it, cook for 4 1/2 – 5 hours (or until internal temp reaches 165 degrees).

IMG_6006

I ALWAYS use a crock pot bag, so when I got home I just lifted the bag out of the crock pot and placed it in a roasting pan so I could easily slice the chicken.  Well, honestly I attempted to slice it, but it was so tender it just fell apart.  It was AMAZING!!!  SO much flavor and melt-in-your-mouth tender.

IMG_6007

I pulled off enough meat for that night’s dinner, and then pulled off the rest of the white meat and put it in the fridge to make chicken and cheese quesadillas the next night!  I also pull off all the dark meat and save it for the dogs. 🙂

IMG_6026

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

